Visit Pelekas village for the stunning sunsets and for a 360°
view over the island. Located on the top of a 270 metres high hill here you will
also find the ruins of the famous Kaiser throne. In the past this was the
observatory where Willhelm II used to come to relax...
A the cafe nearby you can enjoy one the most picturesque
sunsets of the west coast, so be sure you have lots of free memory space in your
Achillion was built from 1888 to 1891 by the Italian architect Kardilo
on behalf of Elisabeth, Empress of Austria. It is situated near the
village of Gastouri, where, in former times the mansion of the
philosopher Petros Armenis Vrailas stood. The construction was built in
the architectural style of Pompeii, although it includes elements of
the Ionic, Roman and Aeolic traditions. The castle was called
"Achillion" in honour of Achilles, whom the Empress admired. After her
death in 1898, Achillion was not inhabited for nine years, until its
purchase by the Emperor of Germany Vilhelm II, in 1907.
The Kaiser made several alterations
inside and outside the palace. He removed the two statues of Achilles,
built a building, which he named the House of the Knights, in order to
house his battalion, and he rearranged the gardens. During the World
Wars, the palace was used as a hospital and headquarters. After World
War II, Achillion became a public estate. Inside the palace, one can
admire beautiful paintings by Italian and Austrian painters, the most
impressive being the paintings of Aggelos Gialinas, a painter from
The most remarkable mural is the
fresco of the reception chamber showing Achilles dragging the dead body
of Hector in front of the Trojan walls. In the chambers, one can admire
the personal belongings of Elisabeth and Vilhelm B', furniture, jewels
etc. There are also exhibits of statues representing heroes from
ancient Greek history and mythology, as well as portraits and pots. The
decoration of the Catholic chapel housed in the palace is also of
Scattered between the beautifully
decorated gardens and the fountains stand the beautiful statues of the
Nine Muses and ancient Greek philosophers, as well as, a large statue
of Achilles, created in 1909 by the German sculptor Goetz, ordered by
Vilhelm B'. The most impressive of all is the statue of "Achilles
dying" created by the German sculptor Earnest Gustav Herter. Another
building in Achillion was used to house the carriage drivers, the
carriages and the horses.
AGGELOKASTRO - KRINI
The byzantine fortress known as Aggelokastro (Castle of Angels) is
situated near the Krini, opposite Palaiokastritsa, at an altitude of
330 m. It was built in the 13th century by Michael Angelo B' the son of
Epirus's archbishop Michael Angelo ?'. Tradition says that the founder
was looking for the most dangerous and the steepest rock to build upon
it an impregnable fortress.
Thus, he came across the area of
Aggelokastro where there stood a fortress, courtesy of the archbishop
of Epirus. The forts' purpose was to protect the inhabitants from the
pirates of Africa and the Venetians. For a while it served as the
island's capital as the governor lived there. In 1403, from the castle,
they fought successfully against the pirates of Genoa.
The castle's entrance is an arched
gate, but inside there are only ruins of the chambers and the storage
rooms. In a dark cave, there is a church dedicated to the archangels
Michael and Gabriel where one can admire a remarkable fresco of the
This byzantine fortress stands on a hill between Agios Mathaios and
Messogi. It is said to have been built by Michael Angelo B'. The only
reminder of the castle are ruins dating back to the 13th century. The
fortress consists of eight strong towers creating its octagonal shape.
The excavations in the surrounding area shed light upon the tolls used
in the Paleolithic Era.
World famous Kanoni is situated south of the Palaiopoli peninsula. It
was named Kanoni (cannon) after the battery of artillery established by
French in 1798. One of the battery's cannons still stands at the
tourist kiosk. In front of Kanoni is the Monastery of Vlaherna, linked
to the mainland by a cement dock and built in the 17th century. From
there one can visit Pontikonissi.
According to the legend, this was
the ship of Phaiakes which, after taking Ulysses to Ithaki, was
petrified. Another legend claims that this is the rock where Ulysses
crashed because of the storm. On the island of Pontikonissi stands the
byzantine chapel of Pandokrator. The spectacular view from Kanoni
inspired the German painter Becklin to draw "The Island of the Dead".
This location is the most charming part of the island and it has always
been the place where all the island's inhabitants love to promenade.
Mon Repos stands where the ancient city used to be, 3 km south of the
capital. It was built on a very large estate in 1831. It was initially
a summer residence for the English high commissioner F. Adam. Later it
became the summer residence for the Greek royal family. In the area
surrounding Mon Repos, there were two discoveries: in 1822 the temple of
Aesculapins (6th century BC), and in 1912-1914 the altar of the Goddess
Diana (7th century BC). At Mon Repos one can see a beautiful view from
the hill of Analipsi, the ruins of the ancient city and the basilica of
Palaiopoli. The beach at Mon Repos is lovely, attracting many tourists
in the summer.
of Benitses is situated 13.5 km south of Kerkira. Near the village, on
a private estate, traces of Roman spas were found. According to
studies, during the Roman Era the area was a resort exclusively for the
wealthy Roman conquerors and their families. Today the area is one of
the islands most majestic resorts.
FOLK MUSEUM OF CENTRAL CORFU
Step into a timecapsule, into a village house that has been left intact with
its original decorations, furniture and fittings, a glimpse into a vanishing
way of life.
Village. Open every day except Sunday
9.30-14.30. Tel. 26610 35673 & 2661044530
PALEOKASTRITSA AND THE MONASTERY
Contains a small museum with icons and other relics, as well as some
at the end of the road.
PALIA (OLD) PERITHIA
Descending from the mountain search for the place called Palia Perithia (old Perithia) with direction the left before the village of Strinillas. Old Peritheia is a small group of lonely ancient houses. Old Perithia was built during the 14th Century to protect people from the pirates and it once hosted thousands of inhabitants.
OLIVE OIL MUSEUM
An old olive press with original machinery, beautifully converted into a museum
dedicated to olive oil production and to local agricultural traditions. Kinopiastes, beside Tripa Taverna. Open
Lovely islet off Corfu Town. Tracks for walking, beaches for a
swim. Remains of fortresses to explore. Boat service from the
Port, every hour on the hour, return on
the half hour. 1,00 euro return.
MOUNTAIN PANTOKRATOR AND THE MONASTERY
Visit the tallest mountain of Corfu, mount Pantokrator for an awe-inspiring view of the whole island. To reach the top of Pantokratoras mountain you have to pass Spartilas & Strynilas villages. At the top of the mountain you’ll find a monastery that is open to public visits and a really stunning view all over Corfu island and even Paxos islands and the Diapontian islands if the day and the sky is clear. Experience the Corfiot hospitality by having lunch or coffee at one of the traditional villages you came across while ascending to the mountain.
CORFU SHELL MUSEUM
Museum is not only unique in Greece, but also is one of
Europe's best museums dedicated to shells
and other treasures of the Deep. It contains thousands of exhibits,
scientifically labelled. Unusual shells for collectors and exotic souvenirs are
on sale. Benitses Harbour Square, north end. Open everyday, 10.00-21.00
ARILLAS HERITAGE WALK
A working farm with buildings reantiquated to preserve a record of Corfu's disappearing agicultural heritage. Follow
the Trail through the farm, viewing olive cultivation, ecological
smallholdings, barns, wells, a water mill and a restored olive press.
Corfu. Follow the arrows. Open all day.
Corfu is the only island in
Greece which has a river and a lake.
Within 10 minutes you
can drive from the east to the west coast of the island and visit both.
side of the island with it's turquoise sea and virgin beach 8 km long is protected
by the ecological organisation Natura 2000. Suggestion for windsurfing kite
surfing and free sunbathing. Through the
east side of the island runs messonghi river. The flat, warm sea on this
side is suggested for families.